top of page

Maggio OHL MVP

For the second straight year a Windsor Spitfire player has been awarded the Red Tilson Trophy as the OHL's Most Outstanding Player. He follows in the footsteps of Wyatt Johnston who is now with the Dallas Stars.

Maggio had a magical season becoming the first Spitfire to score over 50 goals in a season since 2001 and followed in Johnston's footsteps with 54 goals and 111 points to win the league scoring title.

In a statement Maggio said, “I am incredibly honoured and humbled to receive the Red Tilson Trophy. “I would like to acknowledge the support and contributions of my family, friends, teammates, coaches, management, and ownership with the Windsor Spitfires. I am grateful for their guidance, motivation, and unwavering support throughout the season. I am also honoured to join the esteemed group of past winners and their legacy of excellence in the OHL and the sport of hockey. This award is not only a personal achievement, but a reflection of the team’s success. I would like to thank the OHL and its fans for this recognition, and I am excited to continue working hard to achieve even greater success in the future.”

Maggio played three games with the Bridgeport Islanders following Windsor's first round playoff exit. He then signed an entry level deal with the New York Islanders, who drafted the Tecumseh native in the 5th round of the 2022 NHL draft.

Maggio joins Johnston, Ryan Ellis (2011), Ernie Godden (1981) and Glenn Hall (1951) as winners of the Tilson Trophy. Windsor becomes the first team since Erie (Connor Brown and Connor McDavid in 2014-2015) to have back-to-back winners.

Only four players have repeated as winner of the award since its inception in 1945.

Corey Locke 2003-2004 (Ottawa), Brad Boyes 2001-2002 (Erie), Alyn McCauley 1996-1997 (Ottawa) and Andre Lacroix 1965-1966 (Peterborough).


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page